



21 October 2016

PRESS RELEASE

New President of the Council for Estate Agencies

Mr Greg Seow will be stepping down from the Council for Estate Agencies (CEA) Council on 21 October 2016.

- 2 Mr Quek See Tiat, Deputy President of the CEA Council, will succeed Mr Seow and be appointed as the President of the CEA Council with effect from 22 October 2016.
- 3 Mr Seow served on the CEA Council as President since CEA was formed on 22 October 2010. Under Mr Seow's leadership, CEA established a regulatory framework that emphasises professional responsibility and high ethical standards for the real estate agency industry. He oversaw the development of an effective enforcement regime and implementation of a professional development programme for the industry. Mr Seow also guided consumer education efforts to raise public awareness in various aspects of property transactions.
- 4 Mr Quek brings to CEA invaluable experience from his career in the private sector, and directorships in the private and public sectors. Mr Quek holds directorships in the Energy Market Authority, Monetary Authority of Singapore, Singapore Press Holdings, Singapore Technologies Engineering Ltd, and Temasek Foundation Connects CLG Limited. He was previously Deputy Chairman and a Partner of PwC Singapore, and Chairman of the Building and Construction Authority.

5 Besides Mr Quek, seven existing council members will be re-appointed

and four new members will join the Council. Six other council members will

step down along with Mr Seow. All appointments on the CEA Council are for a

two-year term commencing 22 October 2016.

6 The 12-member Council comprises professionals with diverse

experience from both the public and private sectors, including sectors related to

the real estate agency industry, as well as representatives from government

agencies involved in the administration of the property market. The list of

Council members is in Annex A. The new Council will guide CEA's strategies

and initiatives to develop a trusted and professional real estate agency industry

in Singapore.

7 Commenting on his appointment as the President of the new Council, Mr

Quek said, "The real estate agency industry is operating in a changing

environment and faces challenges like increasing technological disruptions and

changes in consumer behaviour. I look forward to working with members and

CEA to help the sector navigate these changes and strive towards higher levels

of professionalism."

8 The Ministry of National Development and CEA would like to welcome

the new council members and extend their deepest appreciation to Mr Greg

Seow and other outgoing members of the Council (at Annex B) for their

valuable service and contributions to the CEA Council.

Issued by:

Ministry of National Development and

Council for Estate Agencies

CEA COUNCIL MEMBERS (FROM 22 OCTOBER 2016 to 21 OCTOBER 2018)

President Mr Quek See Tiat (郭书实)

Reappointed Council Members

Mr Lee Kwong Weng (李广荣)

Executive Director

Council for Estate Agencies

Ms Pauline Goh (吴宝玲) Chief Executive Officer

CBRE Singapore & Southeast Asia

Mr Harrif Bin Hambali

Consultant

Asian Leaders Institute Pte Ltd

Mrs Deborah Ong (陈映雪)

Partner

PwC Singapore

Mr Sin Lye Chong (冼礼聪)

Group Director, Land Sales & Administration Group

Urban Redevelopment Authority

Mr Michael Tan (陈维新)

Executive Director & Key Executive Officer

OrangeTee.com Pte Ltd

Mr Yap Chin Beng (叶振铭)

Deputy Chief Executive Officer (Estate & Corporate)

Housing & Development Board

New Council Members Mr Loy York Jiun (黎学俊) Deputy Executive Director

Consumers Association of Singapore

Mr Ng Boon Yew (吴文友) Executive Chairman Raffles Campus Pte Ltd

Ms Tan Pei Shan (陈珮珊) Director, Energy Division Ministry of Trade and Industry

Mr Derrick Wong (黄旺友)

Partner

Derrick Wong & Lim BC LLP

LIST OF COUNCIL MEMBERS WHO HAVE COMPLETED THEIR TERMS ENDING 21 OCTOBER 2016

President Mr Greg Seow (萧福兴)

Council Members Mr Lawrence Ang Boon Kong (洪文光)

Senior Consultant

Donaldson & Burkinshaw

Mr Ho Chee Pong (何志鹏)

Director-General Singapore Customs

Mr Ho Tian Lam (何添南)

Mr Seah Seng Choon (谢成春)

Executive Director

Consumers Association of Singapore

Er Dr Tan Guan (陈源)

Senior Principal

T.Y. Lin International Pte Ltd

Associate Professor Yu Shi Ming (余熙明)

Department of Real Estate

National University of Singapore